Pre-English Summer Predictions – Internationals (P.E.P.S.I)

This article hasn’t been sponsored by Strawberry Ice Cream Flavoured Panda Pops.

The English international summer gets underway in less than 10 days time. In fact, it gets underway in 9 days time!

First we have New Zealand. There shall be no undercooked Englishmen in this series. The bowlers have had a chance to get up to speed. There won’t be any freak “Two-Metre” Peter Fulton centuries. The series will end up a whitewash.

England 2-0 New Zealand

Top run-scorer = Jonathan Trott
Top wicket-taker = James Anderson

After that we will scrape a 2-1 victory in the ODIs.

Then we have the Champion’s Trophy.

England will get to the semi-final and lose to eventual winners South Africa. No-one will be that bothered by it. Top run scorer = Ian Bell.

Then two pointless iT20s against NZ. 1-1. Top run scorer, Kieswetter.

Then the summer’s main event – the Ashes!

I reckon 3-2…to England. Top scorer = Matt Prior, with Ryan Harris top wicket taker. This prediction might well change daily until the event actually gets underway. There is a lot of time between now and then.

After that, some iT20 against Australia…who cares?! And then some more ODIs, by which time I’ll have topped myself.

Any predictions, fellow bloggers?

cricket crystal ball

Looking inside my cricket crystal ball…

About wrongunatlongon

I'll muse on various subjects, mainly involving willow, leather and grass. My natural instincts is to heap as many compound adjectives as I can to sporting natterings. If you like, then feel free to link :)
This entry was posted in International Cricket and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pre-English Summer Predictions – Internationals (P.E.P.S.I)

  1. Jake says:

    Interesting predictions… Mostly because you believe Harris will stay fit long enough to claim the most wickets.

    • I’ve every confidence that these apparently brittle Australians will be in peak condition throughout the series, and Harris is probably their best bowler if fit, so yeah, maybe!?

  2. jtdallimore says:

    My money is on Chris Rogers as top scorer for the Aussies, and as much as I hate to say it Kevin Pieterson for player of the series. Englad 4-1. You’ve no idea how hard it is to say that.

    • I’m not so sure on KP, this injury is really pretty serious and he could come back half the player he was. I’m thinking of the effect serious knee injuries had on Michael Vaughan; I hope it’s not the case but I’d be tempted to let KP play some County Cricket this summer and aim to have him properly fit in time for the series Down Under.

  3. Prior is an interesting choice for top scorer- Cook is a class act, hard to overlook him. I have never seen a guy more comprehensively murder a side than him during the last Ashes.

    • I know Cook is unbelievable but I’m worried about the effects of the captaincy on his batting. As with Clarke, it is inevitable that it will take it’s toll one day and with the stress of an Ashes series and a pretty decent stock of antipodean new ball bowlers coming over, I think it’ll be runs down the order which could separate the sides – None better than Prior.

Any thoughts? Reply here...

